Skip to main content

Public Policy: Reference

This guide includes resources that can be useful for those seeking information in public policy.

Using These Tools

These materials can provide a source of background information as well as additional readings. They can also be a good place to start when you are beginning research in an area you are unfamiliar with.

Handbooks

Handbook of Public Administration
Call Number: 350 H236 1996
Circulating Collection
This handbook is a guide to modern administration challenges, including managing the public sector, shaping and implementing policy, effective budgeting and fiscal administration, and other topics.

Oxford Handbook of Public Management
Call Number: 351 O98
Circulating Collection

Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration
Call Number: 351.072 H236 2008
Reference Collection

Public Policy Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Guides

Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration
Call Number: Reference 320.603 S525d
Reference Collection
Geared toward students, researchers, and government officials, this dictionary provides about 1,600 brief definitions of important public policy terms. In addition, it also gives brief biographies of major scholar and influential practitioners as well as summaries of important Supreme Court rulings.

SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Anaylsis Using SPSS for Windows
Call Number: 300.28553 S771Zp
Reference Collection
This title is a guide to using the SPSS software tool.

Additional Materials

Toward a New Public Administration: The Minnowbrook Perspective
Call Number: 350 T737
Circulating Collection
This groundbreaking work is a collection of papers presented at a conference to evaluate the field of public administration. Included in this volume are papers in response to the originally presented conference papers.

Urban Politics and Public Policy
Call Number: 301.364 L754u 1978
Circulating Collection
This title looks at policy choices in urban communities, especially as they effect urban life.

Ethics in Public Management
Call Number: 172.2 E843
Circulating Collection
This title examines various aspects of ethics in public administration such as behavioral models, research and theory, political corruption, and accountability.

Classics of Administrative Ethics
Call Number: 172.2 C614
Circulating Collection

Contact Me

Qiana Johnson's picture
Qiana Johnson
Contact:
1970 Campus Dr.
Evanston, IL 60208
847.491.2229
Social:YouTube Page