This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Biomedical Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biomedical Engineering   Tags: biomedical, engineering  

Last Updated: Oct 11, 2012 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/bme Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Academic Department

Biomedical Engineering Department

(847) 491-5635
nu-bme@northwestern.edu

2145 Sheridan Road
Evanston, IL 60208

      

    Key Resources

    • Compendex
      Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
    • Inspec
      Provides abstracts and indexing to scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering.
    • Web of Science wtih Conference Proceedings
      Searches over 10,000 journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. Coverage includes science and engineering.
    • PubMed
      A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948.
    • Applied Science & Technology Index
      Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews in over 390 leading English-language periodicals including trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals.
     

    The Essentials

    Finding Literature:

    PubMed (Special URL that adds "FindIt@NU" buttons)

    Web of Science (Classic Citation Index for Finding Journal Literature; Broad Coverage of the Sciences)

    Scopus (Citation Index with Advanced Search Features and Broad Coverage of the Sciences)

    Faculty of 1000 (Secondary Peer Review and Literature Finding Tool)

     

    Lab Protocols:

    Current Protocols

    Cold Spring Harbor Protocols

    JoVE (Video Protocols)

     

    Citation and PDF Management:

    EndNote (Citation Management Software)

    NU Support: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/endnote

    Endnote Web (Web-based Citation Management Software, Syncs with Endnote)

    Zotero (Citation Manaagement Software)

    NU Support: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/zotero

    ReadCube (Literature Searching and PDF Management Platform)

    Mendeley (Social PDF Management Software)

    Mudd Library

    Profile Image
    Steven Adams
    Logo - Twitter
    Contact Info
    Steven Adams
    Life Sciences Librarian
    Selector for Env. Studies and Psychology
    Northwestern Univ. Mudd Library
    2233 Tech Drive
    Evanston, IL 60208
    (847) 467-2511
    Send Email
     
    Northwestern University

    Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

    Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip