Skip to main content

Research Resources Forum 2014: Sessions

Session Descriptions for September 22, 2014 event

Art Library Resources
Cara List, Head of Art Collection

Join Cara List, Head of the Northwestern Art Library, for an introduction to the wide variety of resources available in the Northwestern Art Library.


Area Studies Panel
Kathleen Bethel, African American Studies Librarian and Liaison for Gender Studies
John Dorr, Assistant Head, Research & Information Services and Liaison for French & Italian, Spanish & Portuguese
Esmeralda Kale, George and Mary LeCron Foster Curator of the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies
Li (Qunying) Li, East Asian Studies Librarian, Liaison for Education & Social Policy, and Liaison for Asian American Studies
Jeannette Moss, User Education Librarian and Liaison for Slavic Languages and Literatures

This will be a panel session featuring Northwestern librarians sharing their expertise and insights into doing research and acquiring materials from various parts of the world.


Beyond Northwestern: Research Libraries and Collections in Chicago
Harriet Lightman, Head, Research and Information Services and Liaison for History
William McHugh, General/Interdisciplinary Studies Coordinator, Reference Collection Management Librarian and Liaison for Classics and Philosophy
Ann Aler, Geospatial & Cartographic Specialist

Join Northwestern University librarians on a virtual tour of the rich resources available in libraries and repositories throughout the greater Chicago area. In this session, the instructors will examine some of these resources, and look at the way the various libraries' web sites can help identify research materials. Included will be the University of Chicago, the Center for Research Libraries, the Newberry Library, and the Chicago History Museum, among others.


Communications Studies in the Electronic Age
Stacey Devine, Assistant Head, Acquisitions and Rapid Cataloging Department and Liaison for Communication Studies

This session will provide an overview of resources for Communication Studies, including television, media studies, rhetoric, organizational communication and health care. We will look at tools that lead you to research articles and books in the field of communications and discuss effective searching.


Copyright and Your Research and Publishing
M. Claire Stewart, Head, Digital Collections and Scholarly Communication Services

What do you need to know about managing your own copyrights and navigating use of copyrighted material in your research? Throughout your career at Northwestern, you will be creating material to which you own the copyright: presentations, papers, digital media, reviews, articles, and your dissertation. You may also want to use others' copyrighted material in your work. This session will help you understand the basics of  copyright, what and how it protects, when to ask for permission, and how to prepare to publish your book or article. The basics of a publishing agreement and a brief introduction to open access and other emerging publishing and impact models will be included.


Data Literacy: Finding and Working with Research Data
John Hernandez, Web & Mobile Services Librarian
Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst
Geoffrey Swindells, Head User Experience and Political Science Subject Specialist
Anne Zald, Assistant Head, Government Business & Geospatial Services, Research & Information Services Department

The Library's Social Science Data Services (SSDS) offers a variety of consultative services to help Northwestern researchers acquire and use data. We provide access to a number of resources, including the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, ProQuest Statistical Insight, and DataPlanet Statistical Datasets to help you get started. Participants will learn about tools and services to help identify, access and analyze sources of qualitative and quantitative data.


Data Literacy: Creating and Managing Research Data
Cunera Buys, E-Science Librarian
Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst
M. Claire Stewart, Head, Digital Collections and Scholarly Communication Services

Will you be creating new datasets as a part of your graduate school research agenda? Either on your own or as part of a research team? Through surveys, interviews, fieldwork or in a laboratory? Several federal funding agencies and journal publishers require that a data management plan be created at the outset of a research project. Session participants will explore tools and best practices for organizing, managing and describing your data to ensure its long term use and preservation as well as to ensure compliance with agency or publisher requirements.


Digital Scholarship in the Humanities at Northwestern
Brendan Quinn, Digital Initiatives Librarian
Emily Van Buren, PhD student in Modern European History

Following a brief introduction to “digital humanities,” this presentation will focus on the modes and processes of digital scholarship in the humanities, particularly the kinds of digital research—from archival digitization to data visualization—humanities graduate students might encounter or be interested in. The presentation will conclude with information about resources for support, training, and grant funding available at Northwestern University.


Electronic Resources for Education and Social Policy
Li (Qunying) Li, Liaison for Education & Social Policy
Charmaine Henriques, Government Information Librarian

This session will introduce students to electronic resources central to the study of education and social policy. Some of the educational resources to be discussed will be Eric; Education Administration Abstracts; and ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, while the policy resources will be PAIS and Policy File. Additionally, resources which contain government information (CQ Researcher, Proquest Congressional and GPO Metalib) that are applicable to policy research will be examined. The learning objectives: to identify appropriate education and government information databases that are relevant to the student's research topic, to develop a search strategy, and to locate appropriate research articles.


Finding Primary Sources Online: Your Virtual Key to the Archives
Janet Olson, Assistant University Archivist

Personal papers, institutional records, documents, historic photos, and other primary source materials are crucial to research in most academic fields. However, these unique materials can be difficult to track down because they are organized, indexed, and accessed very differently from books and periodicals. Fortunately, you can benefit from technologies that make archival and manuscript collections much easier to locate. This session will unlock the secrets of the archives by revealing how to find primary sources through NUL’s databases and other digital resources; how to use archival finding aids; and what steps to take after you’ve identified the resources you need.

Handout


Geospatial thinking: Mapping your research
Ann Aler, Geospatial & Cartographic Specialist
Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst
Qiana M. Johnson, Collection and Organizational Data Analysis Librarian

Geospatial science is a broad and fast-growing discipline that allows researchers the ability to analyze spatio-temporal aspects of people, places and processes. The principal means for studying this phenomenon is through the use of GIS or geographic information systems. The US Department of Labor has identified GIS as one of the three most important industries of the 21st century. This discussion provides an introduction to this increasingly important technology. This presentation will provide the basics of what GIS is, how it pertains to your research interests and the resources available to assist you here at Northwestern. Desktop GIS, web GIS, and how to locate data will all be covered in this presentation.


Music Scholarship in 2014
Gregory MacAyeal, Assistant Head of The Music Library

The Music Library offers scholars a world class print collection, over 35 online resources and a wide range of services designed to support all your learning and teaching needs. This session offers an introduction to the collection, and a brief overview of online tools like RILM and IIMP. Attendees will also learn about the Music Library's important archival and rare materials including the John Cage Collection.


Open Lab for EndNote®/Zotero
Geoffrey Morse, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics, and Coordinator for Humanities and Social Sciences

This session will be held in library room B238 from 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm. If you could not make the earlier session on EndNote® and Zotero or would just like to get some questions answered and get some hands on practice this session will provide both practice time and support.

*Registration not required for this session


Organizing Scholarly Resources with EndNote® and Zotero
Steve Adams, Life Sciences Librarian, and Liaison for Environmental Studies and Psychology
Jason Kruse, Undergraduate Services Librarian and Liaison for Sociology

In an increasingly complex and fractured information landscape keeping track of your research can be an overwhelming task. Fortunately, tools are available to help. In this session we will introduce you to the bibliographic tools EndNote® and Zotero that can help you organize your research materials and save you countless hours in the course of your reading and writing. EndNote® can help you gather information from remote databases, organize and sort records and notes, and automatically format citations and bibliographies in a finished paper. Zotero is a freely available citation management software that works through a web browser. Zotero is easy to use and allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources. Both Zotero and EndNote® can be invaluable resources to anyone pursuing research at the graduate level.


Resources for Philosophy and Religious Studies
William McHugh, General/Interdisciplinary Studies Coordinator, Reference Collection Management Librarian and Liaison for Classics and Philosophy
Geoffrey Morse, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics, and Coordinator for Humanities and Social Sciences

This introduction to electronic research through the Northwestern Library system will focus on databases and full text resources linked from the Religious Studies and Philosophy research guides. We may also discuss additional electronic resources from the Library's webpage.


Resources for Psychology and Behavioral Sciences
Steve Adams, Life Sciences Librarian, and Liaison for Environmental Studies and Psychology

This session will introduce students to key library resources related to psychological and behavioral research. Resources to be highlighted include APA-sponsored databases (PsycINFO, PsycEXTRA, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycCRITIQUES), the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Annual Review of Psychology, and others. Some pointers on effective Internet searching for scholarly material will also be covered.


Resources for Theatre, Performance Studies and Drama
Charlotte Cubbage, Learning Services Librarian and Liaison for English, Radio/TV/Film, Dance, Drama, Performance Studies, & Theatre

The world's a stage, which vastly complicates research in the information age. This session highlights resources for both textual and performance aspects of drama and theatre. We will touch on primary source materials, image and video databases, archives, and electronic texts. We will also view a variety of secondary source materials appropriate to the interdisciplinary nature of theatre.


Services to Support Your Digital Scholarship: Digital Images, Video and Music
Charlotte Cubbage, Learning Services Librarian and Liaison for English, Radio/TV/Film, Dance, Drama, Performance Studies, & Theatre
Gregory MacAyeal, Assistant Head of The Music Library
Nicole Finzer, Visual Resources Librarian

Northwestern University Library offers digitization services and an array of resources to support your teaching and learning needs. In this session, you'll discover online resources and collections, and learn about tools used to manage your digital images, videos and music.


Social Sciences Computing Cluster
Bruce Foster, SSCC Architect, Academic & Research Technologies

The Social Sciences Computing Cluster (SSCC) provides a rich suite of analytic software applications, an advanced computational capability, and a centrally-managed data storage service to support the research activities of Northwestern social scientists. Accounts on the SSCC are available free of charge to Northwestern social sciences faculty researchers and to their graduate students. The cluster of Linux systems provides four interactive systems, a batch cluster with 360 CPU cores, a network file service with 16 TB of storage, analytic software applications, and consulting and education services.

In this session, the instructor will introduce participants to these resources and discuss their role in your doctoral research. A brief demonstration of the SSCC will complete this presentation. Students interested in the Social Sciences Computing Cluster can learn more by visiting http://sscc.northwestern.edu/

Handout