Indexes to articles
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
This database is a bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Here are some keywords that will provide citations to articles about Libya:
- Libya and opposition
- Libya and demonstrations
- Libya -- Politics & government -- 1969- (as a subject term)
- Qaddafi, Muammar, 1942- (as a "People" term)
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database provides citations with abstract from more than 1100 journals in political science and related disciplines and is international in its scope and coverage.Here are some keywords that will provide citations to articles about Libya:
- Libya and policy making
- Libya and pragmatics
- Qaddafi and diplomacy
- Libya and terrorism
- PAIS International
PAIS indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and Internet material. Citations to material found in this database covers all areas of public policy. The following are some keywords that will return potentially useful citations to material focused on Libya:
- Libya and leadership
- Libya and reform
- Libya and social conditions
- Qaddafi and politics
- Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa / edited by Philip Mattar
Detroit, Mich. : Macmillan Reference USA, 2004
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 956.003 E56 2004
Also available Online
This four volume work includes the entry Libya that provides a history of Libya with particular emphasis on the rise and governing style of Muammar al-Qaddafi This work also contains the entryQaddafi, Muammar al-[c. 1942–]. .
- Countries and their cultures/ Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember, editors.
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, 2001
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: L 306.03 C855
This work provides a lengthy overview essay on Libya that includes information on the history, economy, industries, political climate, religion, and ethnic relations in the country. The essay also includes a substantial bibliography providing other sources of information.
- Handbook of political science research on the Middle East and North Africa/ edited by Bernard Reich
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 956.007 H236
This work provides a literature review of materials published about Libya prior to 1998. Although dated this work provides citations to many important scholarly works on Libya that will provide an historical background to the current state of affairs.
- The Continuum political encyclopedia of the Middle East / Avraham Sela, editor.
New York : Continuum, 2002
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 956.0403 P769 2002
This work also provides a comprehensive overview essay on Libya.
- An atlas of Middle Eastern affairs / Ewan W. Anderson and Liam D. Anderson ; cartography by Ian M. Cool
London ; New York : Routledge, 2010
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 956.05 A546a
This recent work provides up to date population, demographic, geographic and cultural data accompanied by a brief essay.
- Political handbook of the world
New York City, McGraw-Hill, 1975 -
2009 copy1 Temporarily shelved at MAIN Reference (Desk) (Non-circulating)
call number: L 341.05 P769
1999-2000/2002,2005/2006-2008 in Main library stacks at call number L 341.05 P769
Also available Online
Books in the circulating collection
(some books may be charged out of the library, check the library catalog NUcat for current status of a specific book)
- Libya and the West : from independence to Lockerbie / Geoff Simons ; foreword by Tony Benn.
Oxford : Centre for Libyan Studies ; New York : Distributed by Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.
Location: AFRICANA Library Call number: 961.204 S611l
- A history of modern Libya / Dirk Vandewalle.
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006
Location: MAIN Library Call number: 327.61206 V244h
- Libya since 1969 : Qadhafi’s revolution revisited/ edited by Dirk Vandewalle.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2008
Location: AFRICANA Library Call number: 961.2042 L6969
- Qaddafi’s Libya in world politics/ Yehudit Ronen.
Boulder : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2008
Location: AFRICANA Library Library Call number: 961.2042 R772q
- The Libyan paradox / Luis Martinez ; translated by John King.
New York : Columbia University Press ; Paris : In association with the Centre d’Etudes et de Recherches Internationales, 2010
Location: AFRICANA Library Library Call number: 961.2042 M385l