Headlines from the International Herald Tribune via Library Press Display. Use this database to see headlines daily from all over the world.
News / Journal / Magazine Articles / Broadcasts
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
This database is a bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
- Egypt and stabil* and Mubarak
- Egypt and political stability
- Egypt and mass media and press
- Egypt and Muslim Brotherhood
- Ciao : Columbia International Affairs Online.
This database includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Some potential searches in this database include:
- Mubarak and Muslim Brotherhood
- Egypt and sectarian
- Egypt and media
- Worldwide political science abstracts.
This database contains citations with abstract from more than 1100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Possible searches include:
- Egypt and democracy
- Egypt and democracy and Mubarak
- Egypt and econom*
- Muslim Brotherhood and
- PAIS International
The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Some possible searches include:
- Egypt and democracy
- Egypt and election*
- Egypt and stability
- Egypt and economic conditions
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Lexis Nexis contains the full text of thousands of news and magazine sources from around the world making it a particularly valuable resource for locating current news stories covering international events. Similar searches to the ones listed above will provide the researcher with numerous full text articles.
- Access World News
This database provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources making it an excellent additional source to search for information about the current crisis in Egypt. Similar searches to the ones listed above will provide the researcher with numerous full text articles.
- Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East and North Africa/ edited by Philip Mattar
Detroit, Mich. : Macmillan Reference USA, 2004
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 956.003 E56 2004
Also available Online
Included in this four volume work is an entry titled Egypt, that in addition to giving an overview of recent history provides some analysis of the lack political freedoms and the suppression of opposition to the government. This work also contains a brief biographic entry on Husni Mubarak.
- The Continuum political encyclopedia of the Middle East/ Avraham Sela, editor
New York : Continuum, 2002
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 956.0403 P769 2002
This work provides a thirty five page essay on Egypt that covers relatively recent developments and may help to provide an understanding for current events. Other entries of possible interest include Muslim Brothers, Brotherhoodand entries on Husni Mubarak and Anwar Sadat.
- The encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli conflict : a political, social, and military history/ Spencer C. Tucker, volume editor ; Priscilla Mary Roberts, editor Documents volume ; Paul G. Pierpaoli, Jr, associate editor ; David Zabecki, Sherifa Zuhur, assistant editors ; foreword by Anthony C. Zinni.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2008
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 956.9405 E559
This four volume work includes entries on Egypt and the Egyptian armed forces that will explain the recent history behind the situation in Egypt.
- Encyclopedia of activism and social justice / editors, Gary L. Anderson & Kathryn G. Herr.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 2007
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 303.48403 E56
This three volume work contains a brief introductory essay on the Muslim Brotherhood as well as mentioning roundup up Sudanese protesters in Cairo in 2005 and pan Arab movements including the Egyptian sponsored Front for Liberation in Yemen in the 1960s and the Nassar's facilitation of the short lived United Arab Republic.
Books in the general collection
- The Muslim Brotherhood and Egypt’s succession crisis : the politics of liberalisation and reform in the Middle East / Mohammed Zahid
London ; New York : Tauris Academic Studies ; New York : Distributed in the USA by Palgrave Macmillan, 2010
Location: MAIN Library Call number: 297.80962 J32Zza
- The Mubarak leadership and future of democracy in Egypt/ Alaa Al-Din Arafat.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2009
Location: AFRICANA Library Call number: 962.055 E33
- Egypt : the moment of change/ edited by Rabab El-Mahdi & Philip Marfleet.
London ; New York : Zed Books, 2009
Location: AFRICANA Library Call number: 962.055 M941Zar
- Democracy in the Arab world : explaining the deficit/ edited by Ibrahim Elbadawi and Samir Makdisi.
London ; New York : Routledge ; Ottawa : International Development Research Centre, 2011
Location: MAIN Library Library Call number: 320.17492 D383
- The struggle over democracy in the Middle East : regional politics and external policies/ edited by Nathan J. Brown and Emad El-Din Shahin
London ; New York : Routledge, 2010
Location: MAIN Library Library Call number: 320.956 S927