This is the "Home" page of the "Repeal of Don't Ask Don't Tell" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Repeal of Don't Ask Don't Tell   Tags: dadt, don't ask don't tell, repeal, topical guides  

Last Updated: Dec 29, 2010 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/DADT Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

News / Journal / Magazine Articles / Broadcasts

  • Academic OneFile
    A search on the phrase don't ask don't tell will return over 200 citations to articles in academic journals, over 400 citations to magazine articles, over 2000 news articles and over 100 online video broadcasts. Other searches include
    • Gay Military Personnel
    • Discrimination Against Gays and military
    • Armed forces AND homosexual*
    • Gays in the military


  • Academic Search Premier
    Searching on the phrase don't ask don't tell will return over 900 citations to articles in a variety of sources including over 70 in academic journals. A search on the phrase Gays in the military will provide over 800 results and over 60 citations to scholarly journal articles.

  • PAIS International
    A search on the phrase don't ask dont't tell will return over 40 citations to journal articles, books and reports. other effective searches include:
    • sexual orientation AND military policy
    • gays military service
    • lesbians military service
    • gays in the military


  • Gender Studies database
    Searching on the terms military and don't ask don't tell, and Gays in the military,will provide a large number of citations to articles from journals such as Law & Sexuality: A Review of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Legal Issues, GLBTQ Social Sciences and Contemporary Sexuality among many others.

  • InfoTrac GLBT life and issues
    A search on the phrase Don't Ask Don't Tell will return citations (often accompanied by full text) to articles in the academic journals Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide, Journal of Homosexuality, Journal of Gay & Lesbian Psychotherapy, and the Journal of Men's Studies as well as numerous magazine articles. Other potential searches include
    • homosexuality and military
    • gay military personnel

  • Military & government collection
    This database offers current news related to all branches of the military. In this database you will find numerous citations to articles focusing on the issue of don't ask don't tell including articles from military publications such as:
    • Navy Times
    • Army Times
    • Air Force Times


  • Policy File
    Policy File provides access to access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature and contains several reports related to issues surrounding don't ask don't tell including:
    • Gays in the military: give the law a name
    • Uniform Discrimination
    • Bigotry Boot Camp
    • "Don't Ask, Don't Tell": A Legal Analysis
    • "Don't Ask, Don't Tell:" The Law and Military Policy on Same-Sex Behavior
    • Discharges Under the Don't Ask, Don't Tell Policy: Women and Racial/Ethnic Minorities
    • Sexual Orientation and U.S. Military Personnel Policy: An Update of RAND's


  • Vanderbilt Television News Archive
    The Vanderbilt Television News Archive will provide online footage of CNN and NBC news broadcasts that cover the don't ask don't tell. A search on the phrase Gays in the military will provide over 200 citations to different news broadcasts, many available online and others that can be requested from the archive through interlibrary loan.

 

Books

Reference Books


  • Gender issues and sexuality: essential primary sources / K. Lee Lerner, Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, and Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner, editors.
    Detroit, Mich. : Thomson Gale, 2007
    Available: Online
    Included in this work is an essay titled Gay Military Hero Buried which describes the experience of Air Force sergeant Leonard Matlovich, a decorated veteran of the Vietnam War who was discharged from the military for being Gay.<

  • Lgbt, encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America / Marc Stein, editor in chief.
    New York : Charles Scribner’s Sons : Thomson Gale,
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 306.76609 L687
    Also available: Online
    This three volume work includes the entries:
    • Military
    • Military law and policy
    • Same-Sex Institutions
    • War


  • Americans at war : society, culture, and the homefront / John P. Resch, Editor in Chief
    Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA, 2005
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 973 A51213
    This four volume work includes the following entries:
    • Gays, Civil Rights For, 1946 - Present


  • The Oxford companion to American military history / editor in chief, John Whiteclay Chambers II ; editors, Fred Anderson ... [et al.] ; consulting editor, G. Kurt Piehler
    Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1999
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 355.00973 O98
    Also available: Online
    This workl includes the essay Gay Men and Lesbians in The Military

  • Sexuality and the law : an encyclopedia of major legal cases / by Arthur S. Leonard
    New York : Garland Pub., 1993
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 346.73013 L581s
    An older work, this book includes some historical information found in the following essays:
    • Discrimination: Military and National Security Issues-89-Are All Gays "Security Risks"?: Adams v. Laird (1969)
    • Discrimination: Military and National Security Issues-92-Revisiting Gay Sex in the Navy: Dronenburg v. Zech (1984)
    • Discrimination: Military and National Security Issues-93-Case of the "Model Gay Soldier": Watkins v. United States Army (1989)
    • Discrimination: Military and National Security Issues-97-Heightened Scrutiny of Gay Security Clearances: High Tech Gays v. Defense Industrial Security Clearance Office


Books in the general collection

  • Coming out under fire : the history of gay men and women in World War II / Allan Bérubé ; with a new foreword by John D’Emilio & Estelle B. Freedmanbr /> Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, 2010
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 940.54097 B552c 2010

  • Unfriendly fire : how the gay ban undermines the military and weakens America / Nathaniel Frank.
    New York : Thomas Dunne Books, 2009
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 355.00866 F828u

  • Don’t ask, don’t tell : debating the gay ban in the military / edited by Aaron Belkin and Geoffrey Bateman.
    Boulder, Co. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2003
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 355.00866 D688

  • Officially gay : the political construction of sexuality by the U.S. military / Gary L. Lehring.
    Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 2003
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 355.00866 L524o

  • Don’t ask, don’t tell review: hearing before the Military Personnel Subcommittee of the Committee on Armed Services, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, second session, hearing held, July 23, 2008.
    Washington : U.S. G.P.O., 2009
    Location: MAIN Government Information Call number: Y 4.AR 5/2 A:2007-2008/163
    Also available: Online

  • Testimony relating to the "don’t ask, don’t tell" policy : hearing before the Committee on Armed Services, United States Senate, One Hundred Eleventh Congress, second session, March 18, 2010.
    Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2010
    Location: MAIN Government Information Call number: Y 4.AR 5/3:S.HRG.111-546
    Also available: Online
Northwestern University

Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip